Can I bring my bike or e-bike on the San Diego Trolley, MTS buses or the COASTER?
Yes, free with a paid fare. The Trolley allows 1 bike per car at peak times and 2 otherwise; buses carry 2–3 on the front rack (under 55 lb). E-bikes are fine unless they use liquid lead-acid batteries.
- Bike fare on MTS
- Free
- Trolley, peak
- 1 bike/car
- Bus rack limit
- 55 lb
- SANDAG lockers
- $25 deposit
With any paid fare
2 per car off-peak
Wheels 20–29 in.
Refundable; lockers free
The short version
- MTS lets bikes ride free with any paying rider; the Trolley allows 1 bike per car at peak times and 2 at other times.
- MTS bus racks hold 2 bikes (some newer racks 3); bikes must be under 55 lb with 20–29 inch wheels.
- E-bikes with sealed gel, lithium-ion or NiCad batteries are allowed; liquid lead-acid and gas bikes are not.
- On the COASTER and SPRINTER, board at doors marked with a bike symbol; tandems, recumbents and trikes aren't allowed.
- SANDAG's 675+ bike locker spaces at 72+ locations are free to use after a refundable $25 deposit.
San Diego's transit is built to take bikes, and bikes ride free with any paying rider, according to MTS. The catch is capacity: space is first come, first served, and the rules differ between the Trolley, MTS buses and North County's COASTER and SPRINTER.
Bike rules by system
| MTS Trolley | MTS bus | COASTER / SPRINTER | |
|---|---|---|---|
| How many | 1 per car at peak times, 2 otherwise | 2 on the front rack (some newer racks 3) | No set number; follow staff if the train is crowded |
| Where | Stand with your bike the whole trip | Front rack; inside only if a small folding bike | Board at doors marked with a bike symbol |
| Size / weight | Not stated | Under 55 lb, 20–29 in. wheels, tires up to 2⅜ in. | Up to 6 ft long, no protrusions |
| Not allowed | Gas bikes; liquid lead-acid e-bikes | Tandems, recumbents, fat tires over 2⅜ in. | Tandems, recumbents, trikes, trailers, mopeds, rental share bikes |
MTS Trolley
- How many
- 1 per car at peak times, 2 otherwise
- Where
- Stand with your bike the whole trip
- Size / weight
- Not stated
- Not allowed
- Gas bikes; liquid lead-acid e-bikes
MTS bus
- How many
- 2 on the front rack (some newer racks 3)
- Where
- Front rack; inside only if a small folding bike
- Size / weight
- Under 55 lb, 20–29 in. wheels, tires up to 2⅜ in.
- Not allowed
- Tandems, recumbents, fat tires over 2⅜ in.
COASTER / SPRINTER
- How many
- No set number; follow staff if the train is crowded
- Where
- Board at doors marked with a bike symbol
- Size / weight
- Up to 6 ft long, no protrusions
- Not allowed
- Tandems, recumbents, trikes, trailers, mopeds, rental share bikes
Using a bus rack
Taking a bike on an MTS or BREEZE bus
- 01
Tell the driver
NCTD asks BREEZE riders to tell the driver before approaching the rack to load or unload.
- 02
Check the bike fits
Traditional bikes under 55 lb with 20–29 inch wheels. Tandems, recumbents and wide fat-tire bikes won't go on the rack.
- 03
Rack full?
Wait for the next bus. MTS allows a full-size bike inside only on the last trip of the evening or on routes running less often than every 60 minutes, and only if the driver says it's safe.
- 04
Riding a Rapid Express?
Those buses have lower storage compartments for bikes.
Folding bikes with wheels under 20 inches can ride inside an MTS bus if they fit under a seat. Folding scooters can ride inside buses if they fit under a seat; on the Trolley a scooter counts against the same 1-or-2-per-car limit. MTS says you can't ride scooters inside transit centers, and it removes scooters locked to station fences or handrails.
Leaving your bike at the station
SANDAG runs more than 675 bike locker spaces at over 72 locations. Lockers are free to use; you enroll with a refundable $25 deposit and get a BikeLink card by mail. A rental lasts up to four days, and SANDAG removes anything left more than 10 days. Questions: call 511 and choose option 5. MTS warns that open bike racks offer "minimal security," and it isn't responsible for theft.
For what the ride itself costs, see the MTS fare change. Looking for somewhere to ride once you're off the train? Try the Bayshore Bikeway loop.
Is this still right?
We last checked this tip against its sources on October 31, 2026, and we re-research every tip on a schedule. Things in San Diego change, sometimes overnight.
Prices, fees, hours and rules change, often at the start of a year or season. Confirm with the official source linked below before you rely on a number.
This is general information, not legal, financial, tax, medical or safety advice.
SOURCES
Everything above traces back to one of these. Follow them — if one has changed and we haven't, that's our mistake, not yours.
- PrimaryBikes
San Diego Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) · checked 2026-10-31
Free with paid fare; Trolley 1/2 bikes per car; bus rack 2–3, 55 lb, wheel and tire limits; e-bike battery rules; folding bikes/scooters; Rapid Express storage; lockers and racks; (619) 557-4555.
North County Transit District (NCTD) · checked 2026-10-31
Bike-symbol doors; allowed and banned bike types; 6 ft limit; e-bike batteries; BREEZE racks 2+, 55 lb; tell driver.
- PrimaryBike Parking
SANDAG · checked 2026-10-31
675+ spaces at 72+ locations; free lockers; $25 refundable deposit; BikeLink card; 4-day rental, 10-day removal; 511 option 5.