When does whale watching season start in San Diego, and which boat tour should I book?
Gray whale cruises run mid-December to mid-April. Flagship's start Dec 12, 2026 from Broadway Pier: about 3.5 hours, $54 adults on weekdays and $57 on weekends, plus a free re-ride if you see no whales.
- Season
- Mid-Dec to mid-Apr
- Flagship starts
- Dec 12, 2026
- Adult ticket
- $54–$57
- No whales?
- Ride again free
Gray whale migration
9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.
Flagship, weekday vs. weekend
Flagship's guarantee
The short version
- Flagship Cruises' 2026–27 gray whale season starts Dec 12 and runs to mid-April, twice daily from Broadway Pier.
- Flagship tickets: $54 adults and $40.50 kids 4–12 on weekdays; $57 and $42.75 on weekends, plus taxes and fees.
- Flagship promises a free future trip if you don't see whales, with no expiration.
- City Cruises sailed Fridays to Mondays last winter (Dec 20, 2025 to Apr 12, 2026); its 2026–27 dates weren't posted as of Oct 30.
- NOAA's 2026 count put the gray whale population at about 17,750, up from 12,890 in 2025.
Every winter, Eastern North Pacific gray whales swim past San Diego on their way to the lagoons of Baja California, and back north in spring. The boat tours follow them: Flagship Cruises sails mid-December to mid-April, and City Cruises says its gray whale season runs mid-December to early April. You can also look from shore for free; see whale watching from land.
The main winter whale cruises
| Flagship Cruises | City Cruises (Hornblower) | Legacy Whale Watch | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Departs | Broadway Pier, downtown | Downtown San Diego | Seaforth Landing, 1717 Quivira Rd, Mission Bay |
| 2026–27 start | Dec 12, 2026 | Not posted as of Oct 30 | Not posted; targets gray whales Nov/Dec–April |
| Days and times | Daily, 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. | Last winter: Fri–Mon, 9:30 a.m. | Not listed online; call (619) 309-1680 |
| Length | 3 to 3.5 hours | About 3.5 hours | 3 hours |
| Adult price | $54 weekday, $57 weekend + taxes/fees | "Usually $60 to $75" per its own guide | Not listed online |
| Narration | Crew naturalists | San Diego Natural History Museum volunteers | Crew |
| No-whale policy | Free future trip, no expiration | Not stated | Not stated |
Flagship Cruises
- Departs
- Broadway Pier, downtown
- 2026–27 start
- Dec 12, 2026
- Days and times
- Daily, 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.
- Length
- 3 to 3.5 hours
- Adult price
- $54 weekday, $57 weekend + taxes/fees
- Narration
- Crew naturalists
- No-whale policy
- Free future trip, no expiration
City Cruises (Hornblower)
- Departs
- Downtown San Diego
- 2026–27 start
- Not posted as of Oct 30
- Days and times
- Last winter: Fri–Mon, 9:30 a.m.
- Length
- About 3.5 hours
- Adult price
- "Usually $60 to $75" per its own guide
- Narration
- San Diego Natural History Museum volunteers
- No-whale policy
- Not stated
Legacy Whale Watch
- Departs
- Seaforth Landing, 1717 Quivira Rd, Mission Bay
- 2026–27 start
- Not posted; targets gray whales Nov/Dec–April
- Days and times
- Not listed online; call (619) 309-1680
- Length
- 3 hours
- Adult price
- Not listed online
- Narration
- Crew
- No-whale policy
- Not stated
Flagship lists the morning cruise at about 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. and the afternoon one at about 1:30 to 5 p.m., and asks you to arrive 15 minutes early. City Cruises' last winter season ran Dec 20, 2025 to Apr 12, 2026, Fridays through Mondays, boarding at 9:15 a.m., according to the San Diego Natural History Museum.
Flagship whale cruise for a family of four
2 adults + 2 kids ages 4–12, before taxes and fees. Our math from Flagship's posted prices.
Flagship lists kids 4–12 at $40.50 weekdays and $42.75 weekends.
Will there be whales?
Probably, but fewer than a decade ago. NOAA Fisheries' July 2026 count estimated about 17,750 Eastern North Pacific gray whales, up from about 12,890 in 2025, one of the lowest counts since surveys began in the late 1960s. The population peaked around 27,000 in 2015–16. NOAA's own researchers say the jump may be partly a counting artifact, since it exceeds what the population could produce, and 2025's calf count of 85 was the lowest on record. Common dolphins are a frequent bonus on these trips.
Picking your boat
- 01
Want a guarantee?
Flagship is the one with a written see-whales-or-ride-free promise.
- 02
Staying in Mission Bay or Pacific Beach?
Legacy Whale Watch leaves from Quivira Road, so you skip downtown parking. Call for times and prices.
- 03
Only free on weekends?
Check City Cruises once it posts its 2026–27 schedule; last winter it ran Friday to Monday only.
- 04
Prefer an afternoon?
Flagship is the only one of the three with a posted daily 1:30 p.m. departure.












Downtown
Mission Bay
Coordinates from OpenStreetMap.
See these on the full San Diego mapRather stay on land? Cabrillo National Monument has a whale overlook above the migration route.
Is this still right?
We last checked this tip against its sources on October 30, 2026, and we re-research every tip on a schedule. Things in San Diego change, sometimes overnight.
Nature runs on its own schedule: seasons shift with the weather and the ocean, so treat the timing here as typical, not guaranteed.
This is general information, not legal, financial, tax, medical or safety advice.
KEEP READING
SOURCES
Everything above traces back to one of these. Follow them — if one has changed and we haven't, that's our mistake, not yours.
Flagship Cruises & Events · checked 2026-10-30
Dec 12 start; mid-Dec–mid-Apr; 9:30 a.m./1:30 p.m.; prices; guarantee; Broadway Pier; accessibility and seasickness advice.
- PrimaryCity Cruises Whale Watching
San Diego Natural History Museum · checked 2026-10-30
Winter 2025–26 Dec 20–Apr 12, Fri–Mon, 9:15 boarding, 9:30 a.m.–1 p.m.; museum volunteer narration.
City Experiences (City Cruises) · updated 2026-06-04
Gray whale season mid-Dec to early April; usually $60–$75; dolphins likely.
- PrimaryLegacy Whale Watch
Legacy Whale Watch · checked 2026-10-30
Seaforth Landing, 1717 Quivira Rd; 3-hour tours; 80-ft boat; gray whales Nov/Dec–April; (619) 309-1680.
NOAA Fisheries · 2026-07-15
~17,750 in 2026 vs ~12,890 in 2025; peak ~27,000; 2025 calf count 85.